Users, Roles and Types of Access

Last modified June 2, 2017

FastSpring allows you to configure multiple users for your account; each user can log on to the Dashboard with a unique login and password, and with a "role" defined for that user. User roles let you control which areas of the Dashboard and features each user can access.

Tutorial Video

Check out our tutorial video on adding and managing users:   How to Add or Manage Users.

Note:

Only users whose role is Administrator can create, change or disable other user accounts. However, any user can change his or her own password.

Please click one of the following links to jump to the corresponding section of the document.

To add a new user

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    Example of the Store menu with the Users option highlighted

  2. The Users page will appear. Click .

    Example of the Users page
  3. The Add User page will appear.

    Example of the Add User page
  4. Click the drop-down selector in the Role field and specify what the new user's role will be.

    Role Description
    Administrator This account is no different than the initial Administrator user that is created for a new account. It will have full access to make changes to the Store and the account.
    Accountant In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Account Balance tile, payment information, and the Reports menu.
    Store Administrator This type of user will have the same control over a single Store as an Account Administrator, except it will not have access to payment methods, payment information, rate information, your Store balance, etc.  This user role is appropriate for someone who needs to set up and maintain the Store, and who does not, or should not, have access to financials.
    Store Maintainer This account user type has access to all functionality in the Dashboard for a single Store, except for reporting and accounting. This role allows you to grant access to employees or developers to allow them to make technical changes to the setup of your Store (such as updating products), while preventing them from seeing information relating to sales that you might want to keep private.
    Store Marketing (With Reports) In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Reports menu, as well as the Coupons menu.
    Store Marketing (Without Reports) In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Coupons menu. This user with not have access to the Reports menu.
    Store Reporting In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Reports menu.
    Store Order Support This user can perform order related activities, including an order search, refunding an order, looking up a license code, and processing a purchase order. All other functionality of your Store is hidden from this user.
    Limited API User This user would not be able to log in to your Store in the Dashboard. Instead, the user can interact with the FastSpring API. This would be a good user role to assign to someone who is the developer for your application. The login email and password for this user would be used in code to access the various functions of the API.



  5. In the Full Name section, enter the new user's First Name and Last Name.
  6. In the Login Email field, enter the new user's email address.

    Example of the Add User page with the Full Name and Login Email filled in

  7. Click CREATE to complete the setup. FastSpring will automatically email the new user with a temporary password to use when the new user signs on.

back to list


Roles and access rights at a glance

The following table illustrates the access rights associated with each role.


Accounting
/ Payments

Storefronts

Products

Promotions

Activity

Reports

Integrations

Settings
Administrator* (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick)
Accountant* (tick)


(tick) (tick)

Store Administrator
(tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick) (tick)
Store Maintainer
(tick) (tick) (tick) (tick)
(tick) (tick)
Store Marketing (With Reports)


(tick) (tick) (tick) (tick)
Store Marketing (Without Reports)


(tick) (tick)
(tick)
Store Reporting



(tick) (tick)

Store Order Support



(tick)


Limited API User n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a

*Administrator and Accountant roles have access to the listed areas for the entire account, as opposed to only the current Store.

back to list
 

To change the role assigned to an existing user

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    Example of the Store menu with the Users option highlighted
     
  2. Select the user whose role or information you want to change. 
  3. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select Reset Roles.

    The OPTIONS menu with the Reset Roles option highlighted
     

    Note:

    In addition to the Reset Roles command, you have the option to click Change to Account Administrator, Change to Company Accountant, or Change to API User. If you select any of these three options, click OK when prompted to confirm your selection and you can skip the remainder of this procedure.
  4. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to reset permissions.
  5. Click the OPTIONS menu again, and select .
  6. The Add Role popup window will appear; click the drop-down next to Choose Role and select the desired role.

    The Add Role popup window with the Choose Role drop-down selector expanded
     
  7. Click ADD to complete the change.

back to list


To disable an existing user or re-enable a disabled user

If you need to disable a user's access (e.g. for someone leaving the company), please use the following simple procedure.

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    Example of the Store menu with the Users option highlighted

  2. Select the user whose access you want to disable.
  3. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select Disable.

    The OPTIONS menu with the Disable option highlighted
  4. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to disable the user's access. The user will no longer appear in the list of users by default.


If you need to view a list of disabled users or re-enable access for a user that has previously had access disabled, please use the following procedure.

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.
  2. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select View Disabled Users.

    The OPTIONS menu with the View Disabled Users option highlighted
  3. If you need to re-enable access for a user whose access has been disabled, select the user whose access you want to re-enable.
  4. Click the OPTIONS menu again and select The Enable button.
  5. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to re-enable access for the user.

back to list