This article applies to Contextual Commerce. (Looking for Classic Commerce documentation?)
Changing the payment reminder, payment overdue notification or cancellation settings in the Pricing dialog of a subscription product allows you to control how future subscriptions for the selected product will behave.
However, when you change these settings, you have the option to select whether or not any currently-active customer subscriptions will be automatically updated with your changes. A separate check box is available for each of these types of changes. If you leave the default option (to apply the changes to active subscriptions) selected, then upon saving your changes to the subscription product, active subscriptions for the product will automatically be modified.
In most cases, nearly all active subscriptions will be updated, but there are rules that govern the automatic update process detailed elsewhere in this article, which may result in some active subscriptions not being updated.
Controlling Automatic Updates of Active Subscriptions
When you make changes in the Send payment reminder, Send payment overdue notification and / or Cancel subscription fields, check boxes will appear - selected by default - to let you choose whether or not your changes will be applied to active subscriptions for the product. For fields with no changes, these additional "Apply change" check boxes (highlighted in the example image below) will not be visible.
In the illustration below, changes have been made in all three fields; if any of the fields had had no changes, the Apply... change to active subscriptions check boxes highlighted in the illustration would not be present beneath those fields.
- If you want your changes to be applied to active subscriptions, leave the corresponding Apply... change to active subscriptions check box(es) selected.
- If you do not want your changes to affect active subscriptions, uncheck or deselect the Apply... change to active subscriptions check box(es).
If you leave any of the Apply... change to active subscriptions check boxes selected, then when you click SAVE at the bottom of the Pricing dialog, a progress indicator will pop up as the system updates active subscriptions for the product, which may take some time depending on how many active subscriptions exist for the affected product.
Once the system has finished applying your changes to active subscriptions, click CLOSE to close the dialog.
On the Events tab of the Activity menu, a single event will be created for each type of change made, showing the product, the type of change, and the number of active subscriptions that were updated, along with the logon ID of the Dashboard user who applied those changes. You can click any row to see a list of subscriptions that where changed. In the example image below, changes were made to both the cancellation settings and the payment overdue notification settings for the fictional product Falcon Monthly Subscription.
Rules Governing the Automatic Update Process
When you select the Apply payment reminder change to active subscriptions check box, the next payment reminder dates on active subscriptions for the product will be determined according to the following rules:
- If the payment reminder has already been sent for the upcoming payment, do not send another payment reminder. Set the payment reminder for all future reminders based on the new values.
- If the payment reminder has not been sent, and based on the change, it would have been sent, the reminder should be sent with the next set of reminders (i.e. no later than the next day).
- If the payment reminder has not been sent and the new date for the reminder has not yet been reached, the reminder will not be sent until the new reminder date.
When you select the Apply overdue notification change to active subscriptions check box, active subscriptions for the product will be updated according to the following rules:
- Changes are only applied to subscriptions that are not currently overdue.
- Should the subscription become past due, the new interval and frequencies will be used.
When you select the Apply cancellation change to existing subscriptions check box in the Cancellation section, active subscriptions for the product will be updated according to the following rule:
- Changes are not applied to subscriptions that already have a cancellation date. Those subscriptions will use the existing cancellation date.